flyinwowings

Conceiving Luc

I ordered the book 'Conceiving Luc' off half.com and it came today.

Laying in bed, I read it cover to cover and it truly gave me a whole different outlook on surrogacy. It is written from the Intended Mother's point of view. I was truly insulted by the whole book, I wonder if other people felt that way when they read it, too.

It was like.. it was all about her, not about the woman who carried her baby.. nothing about how she felt aside from her concern at the beginning.. about the fertility drugs. She only felt bad for the surro because she had gone through the drugs and knew how they made her feel. She had no concern about how her surro felt when she was carrying another woman's baby because she had never been pregnant before, obviously.

In the book were snippets of the surro's journal. Those entries made me cry.. especially when she expressed her fears about giving the baby up. Those parts hit me to the core.

October 14, 1997

Today doesn't seem as overwhelmingd as yesterday. Last night I could hardly breathe with the torment of separation I was feeling. I was in my room just for some quiet time and to get away from watchful eyes. I called down for Stephen to come upstairs.

"Hold me. Hold me. I don't think I can do this," I cried, and clung to him. It must have been a measure of my doubt that I had no shame in showing my weakness. He held me.

"Jen, you're going to be all right, and when it's over you will be all you planned on becoming." ~Conceiving Luc

Not that any of you care...

flyinwowings wrote on 2004-03-28 at 12:03 a.m.

Prev - Next

Miss Any?
August 22, 2004 - 2004-08-22
Bitter - 2004-05-19
Never - 2004-05-09
Happy Easter, everyone. - 2004-04-10
I prolly do! - 2004-04-07